

TECHNOLOGY COORDINATING COMMITTEE

MEMBERS:

Admin. Appointees: Nicole Armezzani, AVP IT (vacant), William Bromley, Beth Hicks, Pam Carter, Susan Hauck, Roger Miller, Jim Spiewak, James Zelenak

Admin. Alternates: Rikki Bardzik, Allan Kobernick, Gim Lim, Sean Morris, Kelvin Veale

Federation Delegates: Anthony Carter, Crystal Edwards Harris, Casey Gwardyak, Barbara Anne Hearn, Latoya Langston, Francine Lukacik, Niari Murphy, Craig Nelson, Johnson Omosule, Chris Wieman

Federation Alternates: Heidi Branschweig, Cailon Lockridge Jr., Will Miller, Ron Shamwell, Aretia Sojourner

ATTENDEES:

Nicole Armezzani, William Bromley, Beth Hicks, Pam Carter, Susan Hauck, Jason Stein, Allan Kobernick, Anthony Carter, Casey Gwardyak, Barbara Anne Hearn, Latoya Langston, Francine Lukacik, Niari Murphy, Johnson Omosule, Chris Wieman, Will Miller, Ron Shamwell, Aretia Sojourner

Minutes: 11.20.2019 | 2:30p | B2-26 Float Conference Room

- I. Call to Order
 - A) Call to order by Pam Carter as asked to convene the first Technology Coordinating Committee (TCC) meeting of the 2019-2020AY.
- II. Attendance
- III. Election of Chair or Co-Chairs
 - A) Sue Hauck nominated Pam Carter for Chair of the TCC. The nomination was second by Nicole Armezzani. A motion to approve was unanimously granted.
 - B) Pam Carter proposed the group elect a Secretary/Scribe to take notes during meetings; Nicole Armezzani volunteered. Barbara Hearn second Nicole serving as Secretary/Scribe and the group unanimously voted a motion to approve.
 - C) For the 2019-2020AY Pam Carter will serve as Chair and Nicole Armezzani will serve as Secretary.

IV. Old Business

- A) Pam Carter offered a review of where the group left off at the end of the 2018-2019AY and what projects would be carried forward. The Technology Coordinating Committee Plan was, and will remain, a priority.
- B) The plan strives to be overarching, allowing for more narrow strategic plans to fit under its umbrella, while also providing a case for the allocation of budget dollars for priority projects. The TCC will serve as the recommending body to the Institution Wide Committee, which will subsequently provide its recommendation regarding the Plan to the President.

- C) Last year, the group identified seven (7) major focuses for the Plan. The group will continue to work on these focus areas, as follows:
 - (1) Technology policy, guidelines, and standards
 - (2) Professional development
 - (3) Emerging technology
 - (4) Workflow systems
 - (5) Administrative systems
 - (6) Infrastructure
 - (7) Data reporting
- D) The group will move forward focusing on developing a draft plan to present to the Cabinet, ensuring our proposed plan is in line with the College's overarching goals.
- E) The approach to the plan, as discussed, will be to remove detail and focus on a document that broadly outlines achievable goals.
- F) The timeline of the plan will match the College's Strategic Plan, which is set through 2025.
- G) Sue Hauck inquired as to whether or not the new CIO (when hired) would want to have input into the plan. Pam Carter informed her that Jacob Eapen (VP for Business & Finance) envisions the new CIO using an already developed plan to set goals and guide their initial tenure at the College.

V. New Business

- A) Pam Carter asked the group if we would like to discuss any new business or propose any charges for the group.
- B) Will Miller suggested making a priority synchronous video conferencing for course delivery. His suggestion is in line with the College's adaptation of Zoom and Canvas, SaaS designed to enhance the student experience via online learning. The group was receptive and hopeful toward the proposal, however identified a few road blocks such as scheduling and student awareness.
- C) Niari Murphy inquired as to the status of electronic timekeeping. It was reported by Beth Hicks that the College is currently working on an RFP for a new system.

VI. Adjournment

- A) Pam Carter updated the group on some administrative issues, such as our web group, where documents could be found, and the date of the next meeting.
- B) A motion to adjourn was put forth by Allen Kobernick.
- C) The motion was second by Barbara Hearn; it was unanimously approved by the group.
- D) The meeting adjourned just before 3:00pm.

Approved January 15, 2020